September 30, 2022

GOP Judiciary committee member Rep. Greg Steube pledges to refuse donations from big tech companies

Rep. Greg Steube (R-FL) just announced that he is ending his policy of accepting donations from America’s tech giants as the battle over media censorship heats up. 

Steube spoke to Breitbart News Daily about the trend of GOP legislators accepting donations from big tech companies in light of the recent congressional testimony from large tech CEOs. Fox Host Tucker Carlson went after prominent GOP congressman Jim Jordan (R-OH) on Wednesday, questioning why Jordan allows Google to be his second-largest campaign donor.

Steube told Breitbart that after watching Carlson confront Jordan, “I texted my chief and I said, ‘Hey, have we ever taken money from any of these companies because I don’t know if you watched Tucker Carlson last night, but he kind of went after Jim Jordan, he kind of went after Sensenbrenner for taking money from Google.'”

Steube continued, “and he said, ‘No, we’ve only taken $1,000 from Google.’ And I told him, ‘No more, we’re not accepting any more money from any of these companies’ … after what I saw and after obviously what is truly going on, I told my campaign staff we’re not accepting any more campaign donations from any of these companies.”

Steube’s public announcement that he will no longer be influenced by big tech companies puts pressure on his GOP colleagues that are still accepting cash from companies engaging in censorship.

Media giants Google, Youtube, Twitter, and Facebook — among others — have gotten bolder in the attempts to censor speech that doesn’t align with their far-left goals, and though GOP legislators have acknowledged the problem, few have taken definitive action.

Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL) called out his GOP colleagues during a Wednesday appearance on “Hannity,” saying that “Congress will not do anything on big tech because Congress is bought off by big tech.”

Breitbart has identified a slew of GOP legislators that have accepted cash from major tech companies that engage in blatant censorship of conservative voices, including Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH), Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO), Rep. Kelly Armstrong (R-ND) and Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL) — all members of the House Judiciary subcommittee on antitrust.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.



Sign Up For The Daily Newsletter